Photo: Tero Vuorinen

Jarmo Saari – g, voc, Taurus pedal, theremin, Abdissa Assefa – dr, perc, Mikko Kaakkuriniemi – dr, Olavi Louhivuori – dr

The tribal jazz-prog rock phenomenon Jarmo Saari Republic released their second album Soldiers Of Light in March on the German label Membran. Multi-instrumentalist Saari and his three unpredictable musceteers create a ritualistic flow of rhythms and timbres. The band leader Saari made his international breakthrough with the fantasy-jazz band XL, and the three drummers are best-known for such names as Timo Lassy Band, Von Hertzen Brothers and  Ilmiliekki Quartet.